2nd IT-BHU Alumni Award of Excellence

The star-studded evening witnessed the 2nd Annual Awards of Excellence, 2008 being bestowed upon four of IT-BHU's distinguished alumni. These were:

1. Mr. S.S. Kohli for his outstanding contribution in the area of financial management and banking. Mr. Kohli holds a B.Sc. (Mechanical Engineering) from BENCO, Banaras Hindu University and Diploma in Industrial Finance. View Citation

2. Dr. Prem C. Jain for his contribution in Environment and Development in general and Special Services Consulting Engineer in particular. Dr. Jain graduated in Mechanical Engineering from BENCO, Banaras Hindu University in 1957. He obtained his Post Graduation and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from University of Minnesota, USA in 1967. View Citation

3. Mr. Supriya Das Gupta for his outstanding contribution in the field of Metallurgical Engineering in general and design and development in particular of iron and steel industry in India and abroad. Mr. Gupta is a graduate in Metallurgical Engineering, Min-Met, Banaras Hindu University, 1955, and PG Diploma in Metallurgy, Mechanical and Electrical of Iron and Steel from Technical Institute, Tata Steel, Jamshedpur in 1957. View Citation

This year AIBA introduced the IT-BHU Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award and this year's award was conferred to
Mr. Anirudh Kumar Sah for his long outstanding contributions in the field of Development and Management of Energy Sector in India. Mr. Sah holds B.Sc. (Electrical and Mechanical Engineering) from BENCO, Banaras Hindu University, 1947. View Citation and
Col. (Dr.) S.P. Wahi (View Citation) for his outstanding contribution in the management in general and oil and natural gas sector in particular. Col. (Dr.) S.P. Wahi graduated in 1949 from BENCO, Banaras Hindu University with B.Sc. (Electrical & Mechanical). He was Chairman, ONGC from 1st October 1981 to 15th December 1989. He has been CMD of Cement Corporation of India for nearly 3 years. He was at BHEL, Haridwar from 1974 to 1978. He was Chief of Planning and Inspection of Bokaro Steel Limited (SAIL) from 1969 to 1974.

During his army days he had two tenures in Jammu and Kashmir on Uri and Sialkot sector. He had training in U.K./Germany with British Army on Armoured Fighting Vehicles, Manufacturing and Maintenance. He is a recipient of Padma Bhushan National Award 1988, Doctorate of Science (Honoris Causa) by Indian School of Mines, 1985, Doctorate of Engineering (Honoris Causa) by Roorkee University, 1987, Doctorate of Science (Honoris Causa) by Banaras Hindu University, 1989 and Giant International Award, 1989 and has several awards to his credit including Life Time Achievement Award by Petrotech in 2007.

Col. Wahi has over 50 articles on Oil, Energy, Leadership, Corporate Governance, published in National and international publications/magazines. His book Leading from the Front published by Sterling Publishers has been a big success in Corporate Leadership. 25 copies of his book were put for a 'Silent Auction' and the response was outstanding. One of the Alumnus, Mr. Mohan Saxena had bid for all of them and it was the highest bid too!

ARCHIVED NOMINATION INVITE 07.01.2008 Download Appeal
Dear Alumnus,

Banaras Hindu University was the first university in the country to offer integrated engineering courses, since the turn of the last century, through its colleges, viz., Benaras Engineering College (BENCO), College of Technology (TECHNO) and College Mining and Metallurgy (MIN-MET), which were combined together in 1968 as Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University. For almost a hundred years now, BHU has been producing graduates in various engineering disciplines, and its graduates have contributed to the building up of technical & social infrastructure in the country post independence.

As a means to the recognise the contributions of these alumni, our association has decided to honour "Significant Contributor" every year from amongst the engineering alumni of Banaras Hindu University, on the occasion of its Annual General Body Meeting. The selection of the Significant Contributor would be through an eminent jury, chaired by Mr AK Sah (ex Chairman NTPC) and comprising our own alumni in part and a group of eminent, independent personalities, like Mr K N Memani (former Chairman, Ernst & Young, India), from the industry.

To make this a meaningful and well recognised affair, we need your help in identifying the alumni who you feel could be deserving candidates for this prestigious award which would be conferred in the presence of a very senior public figure on the occasion of our AGM on 24.05.2008 at the India Habitat Centre. We therefore request you to please help us by nominating possible candidates in the format given below. Once we get your nominations, the names along with contact details would be passed onto the Jury who would, in turn, send the nomination forms designed to gather relevant information.

  • Name of Nominee(s)
  • Designation
  • Organisation (present/Past)
  • Contact Phone
  • E-mail ID

It is requested to please send in your nominations - along with the nominees contact details (batch, e-mail, Phone etc.) in the attached format by 25.02.2008, so that further processing can be initiated. Email: info[AT]itbhualumni[DOT]org

Yours sincerely,
Rajeev Gupta

Jan 9, 2008 by Puneet Bindlish
   This page last updated at July 14, 2013 01:34 PM GMT +05:30
Copyright © 2003-2013 by ITBHUGlobal.org
Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University
Varanasi 221005 INDIA