Recent Postings
Aug 31 IT BHU Chronicle: August '08 edition
Aug 30 Sad demise of Mr. Madan Mohan Tiwari (Electronics 1973)
Aug 28 Tesla hires Deepak Ahuja (Ceramic 1985) away from Ford to serve as CFO
Aug 28 Mata Prasad (Electrical 1954) - an expert in electrical protection systems
Aug 28 Satish Agarwal (Mechanical 1970) Chairman of Kamdhenu Ispat Pvt. Lyd.
Aug 28 Dr. Sandeep Gupta (B. Pharm 1982 & M. Pharm 1984) joins as Senior VP for Endo Pharmaceuticals
Recent Comments
August 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
Movable Type 4.1
January 06, 2008
Invitation for 2008 alumni award
Chronicle Editor @ Jan 06, 2008

(Forwarded by Puneet Bindlish, Mining 2002)

Our IT-BHU alumni association is inviting nominations for the 2nd annual award this year. Last date for forwarding nomination is 25th Feb 2008.

The award program was restarted last year after a gap of many years. Each year, awards are given to 3 finalists. The selection is done by outside jury. Last year's event was reported in chronicle:

The details are posted on website:

2nd IT-BHU Alumni Award of Excellence

07.01.2008 Download Appeal
Dear Alumnus,

Banaras Hindu University was the first university in the country to offer integrated engineering courses, since the turn of the last century, through its colleges, viz., Banaras Engineering College (BENCO), College of Technology (TECHNO) and College Mining and Metallurgy (MIN-MET), which were combined together in 1968 as Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University. For almost a hundred years now, BHU has been producing graduates in various engineering disciplines, and its graduates have contributed to the building up of technical & social infrastructure in the country post independence.

As a means to the recognise the contributions of these alumni, our association has decided to honour “Significant Contributor” every year from amongst the engineering alumni of Banaras Hindu University, on the occasion of its Annual General Body Meeting. The selection of the Significant Contributor would be through an eminent jury, chaired by Mr. AK Sah (ex Chairman NTPC) and comprising our own alumni in part and a group of eminent, independent personalities, like Mr K N Memani (former Chairman, Ernst & Young, India), from the industry.

To make this a meaningful and well recognised affair, we need your help in identifying the alumni who you feel could be deserving candidates for this prestigious award which would be conferred in the presence of a very senior public figure on the occasion of our AGM on 24.05.2008 at the India Habitat Centre. We therefore request you to please help us by nominating possible candidates in the format given below. Once we get your nominations, the names along with contact details would be passed onto the Jury who would, in turn, send the nomination forms designed to gather relevant information.

  1. Name of Nominee(s)
  2. Designation
  3. Organisation (present/Past)
  4. Contact Phone
  5. E-mail ID

It is requested to please send in your nominations – along with the nominees contact details (batch, e-mail, Phone etc.) in the attached format by 25.02.2008, so that further processing can be initiated. Email: info[AT]itbhualumni[DOT]org

Yours sincerely,

Rajeev Gupta Secretary

Association of IT BHU Alumni


34, Netaji Subhash Marg, Darya Ganj, New Delhi 110002

Registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860, Registration No S44440