Welcome to the ITBHU Chronicle, January 2010 Edition.
In This Issue
Campus View
Alumni World
Chronicle Extras
Front Page
BHU Convocation on March 7
@ Jan 18, 2010
    view in one page and print


92nd Convocation

The Banaras Hindu University has decided to hold 92nd Convocation of the University on 07th March, 2010.

Shri Kapil Sibal, Hon’ble Minister of Human Resource Development, has very kindly consented to deliver the Convocation Address.

The Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Technology will distribute degree/medals/prizes to the graduands of 2009 examination of the Institute one day prior the 92nd Convocation i.e. 06th March, 2010 at 11:00 am.

More information about the above function.


1 Comment(s) posted/ Read/Post Comments
IT-BHU to IIT conversion update
@ Jan 14, 2010
    view in one page and print

(By Yogesh K. Upadhyaya. Email: yogesh@optonline.net)


As stated in the last issue, the Institutes of Technology Act, 1963 is expected to be modified by the parliament during February/March session. The BHU Act, 1915 will be modified along with the amendment of IT Act at the same time.

The issue of conversion of IT-BHU to IIT-BHU is lying with EFC (Expenditure and Finance Committee) of HRD ministry. It is expected to be cleared by February end.

We shall wait till March end for any announcement about conversion of our institute to IIT-BHU.



2 Comment(s) posted/ Read/Post Comments
New Director appointed for the institute
@ Jan 14, 2010
    view in one page and print


  132-ITBHU photo.png

 Prof. K. P. Singh has been appointed as new Director

Prof. K. P. Singh has been appointed as new Director for Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University (IT-BHU), Varanasi. He took charge with effect from Feb 1, 2010. He is currently Head of the Department of Electronics Engineering at the Institute.

 132-Prof. KP Singh.png

 (Prof. K. P. Singh)

His appointment is for the period of two years or until the HRD Ministry appoints a new Director. Our institute is expected to become an IIT in next few months. Then a new Director will be appointed from among the faculty of existing 7 IITs.

He has stated in a local daily newspaper (Dainik Jagran) that IIT Conversion is one of his first priorities

Prof. K. P. Singh can be contacted at: kpsingh.ece@itbhu.ac.in


Prof. S. N. Upadhyay left office as IT Director

Prof. S. N. Upadhyay left office as IT Director on 31 January, 2010. He is from the Department of Chemical Engineering. He was IT director for past 5 years. A farewell was held on February 1 in IT-Directorate office.

He was involved in pursuing our institute’s case for IIT conversion and actively lobbying to the Human Resource Development Ministry for the same.

Prof. Upadhyay also helped our alumni association to set up Indian counterpart (IT-BHU Global Alumni Association-India).

Prof. S. N. Upadhyay can be contacted at: upadhyaysnu@rediffmail.com

 132-Prof. SN Upadhyay.png

 (Prof. S. N. Upadhyay)


List of Directors for IT-BHU

(Source: office of the IT-Directorate)

1. Gopal Tripathi                                          1968-71

2. S. S. Saluja                                                 1971-81

3. T. R. Anantharaman                               1981-86

4. V, V, Challam                                           1.10.86-30.4.88

5. S. L. Malhotra                                           1.5.88-31.3.92

6. V. S. Subbarao                                         1.4.92-31.7.92

7. R. N. Singh                                                1.8.92-31.1.93

8. R. B. Singh                                                1.2.93-31.3.94

9. N. K. D. Talukdar                                    1.4.94-31.10.96

10. M. Bhattacharya                                    1.11.96-26.4.99

11. P. M. Prasad                                             27.4.99-31.3.2001

12. G. S. Raju                                                 1.4.2001-30.6.2001

13. B. N. Roy                                                  1.7.2001-20.7.2002

14. S. Lele                                                       20.7.2002-31.1.2005

15. S. N. Upadhyay                                      1.2.2005-31.1.2010

16. K. P. Singh                                               1.2.2010-


Website of the institute




0 Comment(s) posted/ Read/Post Comments
Copyright © 2008-2013 by ITBHU Global Alumni Association
Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University
Varanasi 221005, UP